Yee-haw! Part 2

First, I did not use the recommended size 13 needles, I went with 15’s. The yarn I used is Moda Dea Cache, in the color “Tootsie”. I followed the pattern well into the ribbing, and then it started to drive me nuts! I couldn’t bear the thought of doing 18 inches worth, and wimped out at around 9 inches. I then took it into the bathroom and stood in front of the mirror for a good 20 minutes with it. It was way too long to fold up the brim, and way too bulky to roll it up. What to do, what to do? Maybe a nice wide brim that sticks out? Ok , need something to hold it out. I know, I’ll cannibalize the plastic tray liner from that food dehydrator that’s been sitting in the garage collecting dust for the last few years. Yeah, that’s it. And so I did. I cut a slightly larger than head-sized hole in the center, trimmed the outside edge down a bit, and folded the really long hat down around it. I stitched up the underside to hold the plastic in, and was immediately unhappy with it. I tried folding one side up, like in the original pattern, didn’t like it, and folded up the other side. Hey! That kinda looks like a cowgirl hat! Neato. So, I stitched both sides in place where they were folded upward, and a hat was born.

About twitchyknitter

Wife, mother, daughter, sister. Knitter, tattoo junkie. Big-mouthed introvert. Manic, yet lazy. Walking contradiction.

Posted on Friday, January 19, 2007, in Patterns. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. i see… now, do you think that dust-collecting plastic tray liner from food dehydrator is something i can get at the craft store?!?! 😉

  2. I betcha there’s something very similar. It’s just lightweight plastic, not mesh though. I went around the house hunting for something that was stiff enough to hold the shape, but flexible enough to be comfortable and bendable. I just lucked out when I went into garage to grab a soda, and there it was!

Leave a Reply

