Two years ago today…

Two years ago today I sat in a hotel room glued to the weather reports.

Two years ago today that hotel was completely filled with Louisiana and Mississippi residents running from the storm.

Two years ago today I wondered if I would have a home to take my children back to.

Two years ago today my son developed a fear of storms so strong that he nearly panics every time the wind blows the chimes in the yard around.

Two years ago today my diet went out the window and all the progress I had made started to slip away.

Two years ago today my hometown was washed off the map.

Two years ago today my mother, brother, in-laws, aunts, uncles, cousins, and friends lost everything they’d ever had.

Two years ago today many of my loved ones were unaccounted for.

Two years ago today people I’d known drowned in their homes.

Two years ago today local, state and federal government agencies failed us.

Two years ago today life changed.

About twitchyknitter

Wife, mother, daughter, sister. Knitter, tattoo junkie. Big-mouthed introvert. Manic, yet lazy. Walking contradiction.

Posted on Wednesday, August 29, 2007, in Life, NOLA. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Sometimes it feels like it was yesterday and sometimes it feels like it was a hundred years ago, but the wounds both inside and outside remain fresh and painful…

  2. And two years later…my heart still breaks over the entire thing. 😦

  3. -=hugs=- Well wishes from Albany, New York dear.

Leave a Reply

