Sofaaaaaa!

OMG I have a new sofa. A new sofa! Holy moley, the old icky one is gone! It served us well, but its time has passed. And, if I want to show off my fab new sofa, I guess I have to admit how truly ragged out my old one was, huh? Yeah, it was baaaaad.

Nasty old sofa, plus a little cat butt.

Nasty old sofa, plus a little cat butt.

We’d had it for 8 or 9 years. That’s through the potty training of all 3 of my kids! The sofa had an “aroma” to it. It was with us through all of their toddler-hoods. There were “a few” stains, too. It went through the “if I jump really high I can fly” stage. There were some “little tears” in the fabric. One of the cushions disintegrated long ago. There were holes underneath the cushions that the cats used to climb into and attack your unsuspecting butt. (Dammit, now I’m kinda sorry it’s gone…)

Small hole in the cushion

Small hole in the cushion

Where the desintigrated cushion used to be

Where the desintigrated cushion used to be

Grody kid drool/snot/slobber stains

Grody kid drool/snot/slobber stains

Ooh, lookit the holes!

Ooh, lookit the holes!

Showdown at the Sofa Hole!

Showdown at the Sofa Hole!

Both cats decided not to get inside this time. It was too full of matchbox cars and dirty socks. I got them all out before the delivery guys got here, though.

In the meantime I went and bugged Sarah Jane because she didn’t participate in the living room cleaning/sofa photographing festivities.

You will pay for waking me up... in Belly Scritches!

You will pay for waking me up... in Belly Scritches!

Sarah Jane slept through it all

Sarah Jane slept through the whole experience

And then it arrived! In all it’s leafy glory, it is here! I love it so.

Gorgeous, isnt it?

Gorgeous, isn't it?

Fabric Swatch

Fabric Swatch

Leg view, plus Hilda

Leg view, plus Hilda

I’m totally in love with it. I might even let the kids sit on it. Later. Maybe.

It’ll be so nice to not be embarrassed to let people come into the house. It’ll be awesome to be able to give those who do come in a nice place to sit.

Aaaaah, happy.

Until next time,

Twitchy Banner

About twitchyknitter

Wife, mother, daughter, sister. Knitter, tattoo junkie. Big-mouthed introvert. Manic, yet lazy. Walking contradiction.

Posted on Thursday, January 15, 2009, in animals, Home, kids, Life. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love it! It looks great – congrats!

  2. Yeah, I picked a bad fabric for our couches, which we bought in 2003. Nappy velvety and green. I didn’t pick leather (which, because the store we bought the couches from was going out of business, wasn’t much more expensive), because I had a cat. Cat is gone, and the toddlers are DESTROYING the fabric with snot, puke, and whatever other fluids they can manage.

    Someday, I will have non-embarrassing couches too. That day will come. Just not soon.

Leave a Reply

